The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that the interview-based approach of Dr. Karp renders Dr. Field’s observation-centered approach invalid is deeply flawed in reason and evidence provided, hence, can not be corroborated.

Let us first considered the issue of language as a barrier against the interview-centered approach. Conducting anthropological research based on Dr. Karp’s approach will be extremely strenous to sustain as there is no guarantee, rather, a very high probability that the local language of settlement being studied will not be one that the researcher is already familiar with. Now, it is possible that the study of Tertia village does not have this limitation, hence the immature conclusion drawn by Dr. Karp.

Also, it is difficult to established from the argument the techniques employed in performing the interview-centered approach, as it is a well-known phenomenon that people’s actions and how they are perceived by others is usually different from their view of themselves. Hence, the information gathered from this approach is not reliable.

Another thing to consider from the argument is the lack of substantiation on the parameters used to compare and contrast the results from the different approaches.

Based on the stated evidence or rather lack of such, it is clear interview-centered approach does not invalidate observation-centered approach.