The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

The author claims in the above argument that his interview-centered approach is much more effective comparative to the Dr. Field’s observation centered approach . The main reason behind this conclusion is that his recent interview with the Tertia children reveals spending much more time with their biological parents than other adults in their village . However ,careful scrutiny about the evidence related to the claim reveals that it has some flaws and unstated assumptions which maybe not true. So without answering this assumptions, the argument is flawed and unsubstantiated.

It needs further evidence to make it more convincing to the reader.

First of all, the author did not specify about the number of Tertia children he interviewed . If the number is small , he can get a biased answer . To answer that they spend much more time in discussing parents than adults of their village needs a large number of interview data .Only interviewing a small number of children ,we can not get proper result. So ,there is flaw here.

Secondly , the author did not specify about the type of questions he asked to the children .Without knowing much about the interview questions ,we can not be fully assure about his conclusion. Proper interview question analysis is needed to come up with a conclusion. Because only spending much more time talking about the biological parents than their other adults in the village does not fully prove that they are reared by biological parents . The interview questions are needed to fully evaluate the claim otherwise we cannot say the conclusion is flawless.

Furthermore, the author does not give enough info about the children who gave the interview . Do they live in the island of Tertia now or they have moved to nearest island ? It they moved ,maybe their behavior has been changed a lot . So ,taking interview about them will not give a proper idea about their behavior. So , the author has flaws in this respect also.

In conclusion , although at first it seems likely to be true that Tertia children are reared by their biological children due to the claim by the interview of the author , careful scrutiny of the evidence presented by the author reveals that it has some unwarranted assumptions . So to validate this conclusion the author needs to provide more evidence to his interview questions like the type of interview questions , no of interviewing children , enough data about the children family etc. Otherwise we can not say this is valid argument according to the evidence presented here.