Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The author recommends that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level will ensure attracting more viewers and avoid losing any further advertising revenues. In support of this recommendation, the author reasons that due to viewers' complaints about the station's coverage of weather and local news as well as canceling advertising contracts of local businesses, the recommendation is necessary to ensure its former situation. However, there are some questions that need to answer to evaluate the argument.

First of all, How have they been sure about the fact that less time allotted to weather and local news is the only reason for the viewer complaints? The author also did not give any information related to customer complaints. What type of complaints are those? Did they complain anything about timing? Or they are complaining about the quality of the news? The viewer may be dissatisfied with the authenticity of the weather and local news. The author did not give any information about this.So fully evaluate the recommendation, the more evidence is needed regarding weather and local news.

Secondly, Is the timing issue the only reason for canceling the advertising contracts? the author did not give any statement about the local business. Local business maybe was dissatisfied with their news quality. Maybe the television station is providing wrong and controversial info which can irritate the viewers. Due to decreasing viewers, they may be decided to cancel their advertising contract. So without knowing about this information, we cannot say that the recommendation is valid.

Furthermore, How the author is assured that only solving time issues can solve the both problem? The problems may have a different type of reasons. So, the author needs to provide more evidence regarding this to fully evaluate the argument.

In conclusion, the argument is seriously flawed due to some unwarranted assumptions. To fully evaluate the argument the author needs to provide more evidence to validate the recommendation. Otherwise, it will be an unsubstantiated and flawed recommendation.