The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the above argument it is stated that owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental store, suggests that reducing operating expenses of his nine store can reverse the effect of declined profit. The recommendation is based on the fact that one of his store on Downtown Marston has reduced their expense by closing early and reducing its stock. Thus he thinks it may help regain his profit. To evaluate this recommendation fully, there are some questions that we need to answer.

First of all, is downtown Marston comparable to other nine store? They may have different category customer compared to downtown Marston. Like, customers may come at the other nine rental store later 6 PM. Thus if the store is closed early, they will lose huge customers. So. The author should provide more evidence about the customer type and their timing. Otherwise, we cannot say that it will be effective to implement the above recommendation to other nine stores. Because different stores may have different type of category of customers. Like, if it is located near school or university, it will have more customer in the daytime. On the other hand, if it is near residential area, it have more customer in the night time. So the claims need to provide more information about the place of the nine store to make it an effective move.

Secondly, is the author sure about the fact that the customers do not prefer the movies that are released more than five years ago? May be there is some famous movies that are released five years ago, has more popularity than the recent released movie. So without giving enough survey about the customer’s choice, we cannot fully evaluate the step of reducing stock. Also without knowing the more about the customer’s choice of the other nine stores we cannot say that it will be effective to the same to other stores.

Furthermore, why the closing time is reduced 3 hours for downtown Marston? Why is not the other timing? The author does not provide evidence to this effect. Maybe reduction of closing time of 2 hours is more effective to the downtown Marston .Similarly same goes to other stores. Without knowing the proper analysis of the expense of the different time period, we cannot say that it will be fruitful for reversing the effect on the profit.

In conclusion, the recommendation needs more credible evidence to support the conclusion. Without answering the above questions, the recommendation is unsubstantiated.