Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is one of the basic need in this modern world and people can learn through formally by educational institutions. Yet, some argue that this formal education restrains people mind and impedes the way of free thinking. The above prompt recommends that this education tries to restrain people’s mind. I mostly disagree with this point of view for the following three reasons.

To begin, it is true that through informal education, we can learn the basic things necessary for the practical life. Also technological things is available in the internet. People can learn from Youtube, Coursera, Khan Academy etc. There is plethora of resource available on the internet. That’s why we can see that many successful person in the world are actually college or university dropout. But they acquired knowledge on their own. For instance, Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg was also a Harvard University dropout. But he passed school, college level education. So, without completing formal education he has become a one of the most successful man in the world, also one of the richest man in the world. But there is a point that we need to notice. That is those who are dropout also took formal education of school, college level. That is he needed a minimum education to learn from informal education. So, maybe the dropouts felt that they were not finding interest in their formal education. That is true. So, we can say that sometimes formal education may be uninteresting and people can learn their preferred subject or topic through informal way.

However, minimum formal education is needed to become a good human being. Social norms and behaviors are learned effectively through formal learning. Because when one is child, he or she have not the capability to think what needs to be learned. So by formal education he can learn from his teacher how they talk, how they behave. Passing time with the classmates also ensure the social growth of a child. Also, child likes to learn in a group, they like to play with the fellow child. This type of environment is only possible in formal education. In this case, we can say that it does not restrain the mind rather it allows the child to learn social behaviours effectively. At least some minimum formal education is need to become a good social being, to understand what is good , what is wrong.

In conclusion, some argue that many successful people did not complete formal education, so it is unnecessary. But didn’t they complete some levels of formal education? Some levels of formal education is at least needed. Also, most scientist and distinguished people of the world has taken formal education. They achieve Excellency through formal education. With formal education people can learn many technical and scientific things. It actually set their mind open to think about many versatile things that may be unknown to him if he did not take formal education. So, I mostly disagree with the prompt.