The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate nderstanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Dr. Karp is trying to understand the child rearing traditions in Tertia. While doing so, he is also comparing his methodology with that of a Dr. Field, who also studied the same thing 20 years ago using a different approach. Through a series of assumptions which are rife with holes and inconsistencies, he has concluded that his method will yield much better results than the Dr. Field's method of observation.

Dr. Karp compares his findings the observations of Dr. Field who worked the issue 20 years ago. While doing so, he does not consider the fact that the social conditions in the village of tertia my have radically changed i the past two decades. 20 years is a significant amount of time, especially if the social changes caused by the generation gap are to be taken into consideration. It is definitely possible that the observation of Dr. Feild was accurate 20 years ago and the social landscape of the Tertian village changed in the past 2 decades. The citizens who were children 20 years ago could have a grown up to have a different approach towards child rearing than their parents. It is also possible that the Tertian village underwent extensive modernization in the span of 20 years and now follows the conventional child rearing practices followed in other parts of the world.

It is entirely within the scope of possibility that the Tertian village still follows the old practices of child rearing and Dr. Karp missed it in his interviews. This logic comes into picture because the passage says that Dr. Karp interviewed the children from the group of islands of which tertia is a part. It can be said that the children Dr. Karp interviewed did come from the island of Tertia but from some other island where the old child rearing practices were never followed. If these children were not Tertian, then indeed Dr. Karp's data holds true, but invalid in this argument.

Diving deeper in the article, Dr. Karp assumes that just because the children don't talk about the other villagers implies that the villagers play no part in the child rearing process. This statement may not hold its ground on many accounts. It is possible that the children were too nervous to coherently answer any of the asked questions, or too wary of a foreign stranger poking around in their personal life. Also, being children, any answers given by them would have to be cross-checked with some authority before it can be considered as a fact.

In conclusion, Dr. Karp needs ask whether the all the children were from Tertia or not. Also, the accounts given by these children need to be verified. he also needs to check whether there have been any changes in the social landscape of Tertia in the past 2 decades. After all these questions have been answered, a cogent comparison can be done in the two techniques applied for analysis on the island of Tertia.