Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.
Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.
Any form of media plays a critical role in shaping the socio-political landscape of the region. Newspapers, telemarketing, posters,
advertisements or hoardings all contribute towards showcasing the best of the personality or an organization to the public. In this 21st
century, media publicity has become paramount in the exposure hungry world. It is impossible to avoid scrutiny, both positive and negative,
that comes with the publicity we seek. Prolonged dissection of any choices a public personality makes humanizes it and consequently starts
highlighting it's errors. But even in such a attention frenzied world, an ideal model of a person can be created if media handles available
on our hands are used as means to an end instead of considering it as an end itself.
Political leaders and influencing personalities have used mass media and public propaganda as a tool since start of its invention.
considering the example of first Prime minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru, shows us the extent to which the media propaganda can be used to
convey a public image of a person, making him almost a larger than life personality. Although it is true that the Life and Choices of Mr. Nehru
came under intense criticism when he ascended to the position of PM, the fact that that the image he had casted unified the entire Indian
community in the time of need cannot be refuted.
Even the media personality like the Kim Kardashian has intense conflicts and flaws in her real life. But instead of getting caught in the
backlash of her exposed flaws, she created an empire of the scrutiny she gained. Not only did she overcome the negative scrutiny, she made
sure to show the world the power of mind with a purpose. And along the way of proving herself, she became an widely recognized influencer
who is followed by millions today.
Media scrutiny can be used for rapid rise in social influence by understanding the real time community trends. If a celebrity is giving
people what they want, then the negative scrutiny can also be turned in an advantage. The reputation can be easily built and maintained
in such scenarios. The life and story of Elon Musk gives this point its rest. The failure of his tests can fiscally cost up to billions,
but the media image he casts makes him a hero of our times. this leads people to believe that his next endeavor will be a striking success.
so in the conclusion, the image we maintain on the social platforms builds our reputation. In todays world, an influential living man or woman can
can become a hero for the masses by maintaining his public image and riding the wave of negative and positive scrutiny with dignity.