An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30
volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was
monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but
wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week,
they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more
soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.
Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would
weaken or strengthen the argument.
Although it seems like the scent of Lavender has cured these patients suffering with chronic insomnia, the author has not given sufficient
evidence or data analysis to reach the conclusion that lavender scent was the only factor influencing the sleep pattern. Numerous detailed
and analytical questions need to be answered to reach the conclusion author has derived.
The author stated the scent of lavender as a traditional cure for insomnia which has now been proved based on the study involving 30
chronic isomnianc patients. He has failed to mention the biological classifications of these people. Were these people old? Were they
undergoing any extra medical treatments? Or was chronic insomnia their only ailment? Neither does the author talk about the sleep patterns
of these patients. It is quite possible that some of these patients were old aged and did not have significant active sleeping hours. It
also falls in the scope of possibility that the people under observation had working days of physical labor and slept soundly during the
third week.
Ignoring the absent data about the physical details of the patients, author also fails to mention the psychological conditioning of these
patients. Can it not be possible that during the first two weeks many of the patients had some stress and tension leading to insomnia and
without any sleeping medications woke up feeling tired? And during the third week, after sleeping in a controlled environment for 2 weeks
they finally began to relax, resulting in a sound sleep. The author should have thrown some light on the psychological setting of these
patients while describing their improving sleep patterns.
Moreover, the study states that the scent of insomnia starts working after regularly using it for minimum two weeks. This begs the question of the
activation duration of this remedy. Will everybody need to regularly sleep with lavender scented pillows for 2 weeks? Or is this duration
different for everyone? Also, if this is a scented remedy passing through the respiration system, why does it take 2 weeks show its effects?
If any residue of these scents is settling in the body, will it have any effects in the long term? Failing to shed light on any of these
points, the author has created serious holes in the foundation of his argument. all of this finally leads to one basic question: Is Scent of
lavender the only factor affecting the sleep of the patients?
Answering all of these questions is vital for reaching an informed decision about the efficacy of the lavender scent in curing insomnia.
If the questions raised lead to positive replies, then we can say with fair certainty that the lavender scent is indeed curing insomnia.