Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.
Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the
position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold
true and explain how these considerations shape your position.
The author forwards his stance on the formal education of the students by stating it as a hinderance which curbs the free thinking of the
pupil. He blames the conventional teaching system as a restraint set on a creative mind. Understanding his perspective becomes easy in
the 21st century as numerous celebrities and social personalities flaunt their street knowledge and hard work as the key to their success.
In todays world, along with these 'hip' social figures, entrepreneurs and men of providence also propagate the futility of the knowledge
gained in school and the progressive approach towards unconventional ways of imparting knowledge.
Taking into account the life of Billionaire Bill Gates or Mark Zuckerberg, it is evident that views of these men align closely with that
of the author's line of thinking. Formal education was a means to end to these people and their actual education started when these men
dropped out of the universities. If we take these examples as the milestones in our thinking process, then the formal education does
indeed hinder our imagination, forcing us to walk a well trodden path without any significant creativity. The conventional approach of
knowledge acquisition then curbs our mind in the fence by its traditional ways.
But on the other hand, the conventional way of teaching has given us numerous laurates in the past. Reviewing the life of Nobel Laurate and
Physicist C V Ramkrishnan, we could easily infer that the traditional ways of teaching does pave the path towards a glorious success.
The pupils taught in the traditional manner can also rise to their potent creativity after finding a foundation from which they soar in
conventional teaching methods. The traditional methods, if anything, form the base which helps the student grow and concretize his ideas.
Many other scholars like Mr. Ramkrishnan would profuse that the university imbibed them with the skills which help them acheive the feats of
success to which they have risen today.
So it can be assumed that the traditional ways of teaching do have their pros and cons. Curbing the imagination or amplifying it depends
solely on the receptor of that knowledge and not the way in which the knowledge was imparted. Both the ways of education have evolved
over centuries through human experience and cannot be validated without taking into account the position of the student.
In conclusion, it can be said that the author does have some basis for his statement, which would hold true in todays world. But it does
not mean that the opposite statement is wrong. it simply means that these both are parallel facts and the creativity and imagination of
student depends solely on his IQ.