According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully

reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to

notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely

monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor

code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover,

in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the

argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the

recommendation.

Although it seems like the implemented system of Honor Code has the desired successful effect in the Groveton College, the author does not

make a persuasive argument to back up his recommendation. There are numerous inconsistencies in his argument which need to be sorted out

before it can be said with certainty that the Honor Code is really the reason for the cheating drop in Groveton College.

To begin with, Groveton college has started a new system in which the student are responsible for keeping a check on their moral code in

a pressurized environment where acting immorally is definitely more beneficial. In such an environment, assuming none of the student will

cheat is like equivalent to giving keys of a treasury in a thieves hand without any overboard supervision. Furthermore, the students are

expected to rat out their friends to the faculty in case of any misconduct. This idea begs the question of the reliability of the

students to keep themselves in check, without any supervision, especially in the time of examinations.

The author has mentioned a statistic of 30 students that cheated every year. Without having any data to verify this fact, the data

presented in the argument becomes redundant. And then the author compares this the current data with the reported cases of cheating in first

year after the code was implemented, followed by the number of cases reported after 5 years. Even though there is a drastic drop in the

number of cheating cases reported, the author has not given any indication to validate this claim. It is entirely possible that in the

first year the student were apprehensive of the imposed rules and thus reported any incidents out of sheer fear. But as the year passed,

they understood the non-existent severity of the system and stopped reporting the cases of misconduct they observed. It is even likely that

few years along the line, the number of cases reported may drop down to zero. Are we supposed to then assume that the students of Groveton

have become morally upright and are not cheating in an unsupervised environment?

Author goes on to cite a survey which tells us a majority of students like the Code and would not cheat if it were in place. Author has

not given any information about the questions asked in this survey, the number of students questioned, the type of students questioned,

or the timeline in which the students were questioned. Is not in the scope of imagination, that these students may simply have lied so

that an unsupervised examination center may continue as it has done for past 5 years? Is not possible that instead of reporting each other

the students are taking undue advantage of the situation and everyone is scoring good grades?

These questions need to be answered before a logical conclusion can be reached regarding accepting or rejecting the recommendation of

the Honor Code. The Survey that was conducted needs to be questioned and its details thoroughly verified. if it found that all these things

give positive response and the moral integrity of students is beyond reproach then positive action can be taken towards implementing Honor code.