The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the

The author argues that Dr Field’s conclusion is invalid is based on many ambiguous assumptions and fails to mention several factors on basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. Hence, the argument is unconvincing and has several flaws.

First, Dr. Field interviewed and learned about the children, twenty years ago. Many things might have been changed in the region of Tertia. Moreover, comparing the results from the older results doesn’t take into account the evolution of the society in the region.

Secondly, both the conclusion doesn’t give statically number about the number of children interview to come to conclusion. Furthermore, it also doesn’t mention the demographic from which the data was collected. It can be the case that Dr field observed the large number of children and came to the conclusion, while only a limited number of children were interviewed by the author’s team. Hence, it is very crucial to mention the number of children observed and interviewed before giving out a strong conclusion.

Thirdly, the type of observation by Dr. Field and type of question asked bby the author’s team are not mentioned exclusively. It also didn’t mention about the metric the research were looking to come to the conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed due to the above mentioned resaon and therfore implausible. It could be considerably strenghthen if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts to support the conclusion that the author studies were correct than the Dr Field research.