The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

There is a certain ambiguity that persists within the given writeup. I could spot quite a few logical fallacies in this writeup and I would like to enumerate my viewpoints about the same by posing valid questions.

Firstly, there are so many conclusions being made without proper evidence to back these up. One such is present in the very starting line of the given argument where Dr. Field concluded 'only' from 'his' observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Even though he is a noted anthropologist, he can be wrong at times too; after all, we are only humans and are prone to mistakes every now and then. Anyways, coming back to Dr. Field's case, it is baffling how he made such a bold claim by just observations. It might prove to be true later on also, but to state such a thing without a complete evidence is what feels ambiguous. The children maybe were not close to their parents or their community would have been in a such a way where they were not aware about the concept of nuclear families, instead were only stuck together as one whole group. That could have been a misleading observation when the whole of the village think of themselves as one, and even though the children might have been raised by biological parents, they all essentially practice the exact same activities, exemplifying the extreme unity of the village.

Secondly, like discussed in the previous paragraph, there was not enough evidence to prove Dr. Field's conclusion was valid, it is here soon disproved by the author when he took an interviews in the same village. And now, he makes a statement, which again lacks any clear evidence, paving way to a logical fallacy. An exact counterargument to my previously posed question can be asked here. The given statement claimed that because the children talked most about their biological parents than about other adults in the village, it was highly unlikely that these children were not reared by an entire village. Well, what if these children were just too attached to their biological parents and that is the reason they mention only about them in the interview? What if the interview was placed in such a way that there was no scope for those children to talk about other adults or what if the questions were not directed well enough? Maybe those children, even though were reared by an entire village, they still have immense respect towards their biological parents and hence talk only about them. Only when such questions are answered satisfactorily, we can prove Dr. Field's conclusion to be invalid.

Finally, it is given that an interview-centered approach is better than observation-centered approach any day. It should be given in writing that this will always work in every circumstance. Like for example, in this given example where conclusions were made about the upbringing of children in Tertia, both of these approaches alone were not quite satisfactory as they lacked proper evidence. Maybe a combined approach might have worked better here. Maybe in other instances, one might outweigh the other approach and then it can be based after logical thinking. Therefore, it can't be true that the author's students who are currently in Tertia will establish an accurate understanding with just an interview-centered approach.

I would like to wrap up by saying that both the conclusions made by those two different people can not be taken true as both of their arguments lacked solid viewpoints and evidences to back up their claim. And only when the posed questions are answered in a satisfactory manner, we can fix upon a conclusion about children in Tertia.