In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.

I can spot numerous logical fallacies just after reading the first two sentences of the argument and I would pose a few valid questions as to why the implementation of an absurd tactic by Movies Galore is just a mere assumption and might not work in the longer run.

Firstly, it must be realized that it is a 'recent' decline in profit margin and has not been sustained for a long period of time. Instead of scrutinizing this observation, the manager of Movies Galore adopted a very different approach by cutting down on their operating expenses. By very different, I mean, the approach is far from being coherent and logical. The recent decline might be due to lack of new videos being produced or maybe the customers haven't even finished the previous videos which they bought! There can be raft reasons as to why there has been a decline in the profit margin, but implementing a holistic change in operating times certainly isn't the best approach to reverse the decline. Customers, who make up the working population, might only come visit these video rental stores after their working hours which is mostly after 6:00 P.M. And to implement this new closing time in the other nine outlets, they might face a severe loss indeed.

Secondly, reducing the stock by eliminating all the movies released more than five years ago is not an appreciable initiative too. As we've heard from many, "Art never dies", it holds very true in case of good art. People would like to revisit good movies every now and then. Also movies which have been released way ahead of their time might receive their well deserved praise by these rental outlets only (as they would've failed at Box Office). 'Back To The Future" movie series is one which is being highly recommended now, even though it released way back in the '90s. Hence, my point was, by removing the stock of old movies, Movies Galore might end up driving away their highly tasteful customers.

Finally, to keep up the reputation of offering great movies at low prices, it begs the question "Was not raising the rental prices the only option and was dismissed as unviable?" They could've very well tried cost cutting by other means like reducing their cost price. They could've changed their wholesale purchaser to a new one who would offer at a lower price. Or they could've just reduced the salary of the workers for the time being till the shop starts to flourish again. Okay this final sentence might be dicey, but let me tell you how that can be made effective. Instill the thought in your workers that customer satisfaction should be the primary goal and the same is a vital key to success too; it is necessary to work hard as a team to help the company grow and reach greater heights. Once the company prospers, it automatically would be reflected in the paychecks of the workers.

Hence I rest my case saying that there are numerous other better ways to increase the profit margin than the ones mentioned above in the argument which is filled with logical fallacies.