Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

It is true to some extent that the best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with a opposing viewpoint and I would partly agree with the claim along with the reason stated. However, it is only to some degree, though greater, that the given claim is true. I will enumerate all my view points and opinions in the following paragraph

To start with, let's take a classical day-to-day happening example where a group of friends are embroiled in a serious discussion. It could be about anything, trivial or moment, but for the sake of an example, let us assume that they are involved in a conversation about deciding the stream to take in Masters and thus, deciding their careers. I would like to shed some light here about our fickle minded youth and the ambiguity that persists about these things, to some extent even nullifying the drastic advancements of technology and information. Okay, so coming back to our group of friends, who are deliberating different coursework of various colleges; and say, all of them but one have fixed their stream. That one person is strongly against the stream his friends took and wants to pursue a completely different course - which has minimal scope. This is the exact place where his friends try to talk sense and make their stance clear by posing opposing viewpoints and pointing out all the fallacies of his opinion. It is not completely persuasive, but it is that essence of an argument which makes it healthy. I am exemplifying it to be purely positive work by those friends because this is a real life story and how that healthy argument changed my cousin's career for better ( Yes, that one miscast friend was my cousin). This is just an example, but I'm sure there's millions of other such stories to back up the given claim. A person entitled to his own opinions, might not always see the other side of a coin. And this same person, who is strongly attached to own viewpoint might not pay heed to others opinions. But when the same is done with an opposing viewpoint, it could prove to be vital. To some extent, we can say that is how the human brain works too! Negatives are taken in and processed faster than mere positives.

However, it is not always true that an opposing viewpoint has to be the best test for an argument. An argument just as such, can speak for itself too. Consider some other example where, again a peer group is discussing about rapes and its victims of their nation. One does not certainly need a counter argument for this. Though, day in and day out, people claim no one is perfect, and how they perceive right and wrong still to be a grey area, criminal acts like these are fundamentally wrong. No matter how much one tries to defend such a shambolic act, at the end of the day, it is still WRONG! And here I hold my position to explain why it is not a necessity for an argument to always hold true only with an opposing viewpoint.

Like I mentioned before, people are entitled to their own opinions, but the interesting arguments that can arise from those forms the important link between others viewpoints. Hence, I would like to conclude here by saying, an argument can speak for itself, only sometimes and not always