In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The given argument does contain quite a few logical fallacies and I would like to enumerate those by posing definitive questions that is likely tp weaken the argument. In this same process, I would be providing answers for the same to make it look comprehensive and logical.

Firstly, the mention about water sports and how Manson City residents rank it as their favorite recreational activity does not give us a clear explanation the use of river for water sports is sure to increase. To start with, it was just a survey and there is no mention about the people's participation in this survey. If most of the people who ranked water sports higher are from the working class, then it is not given in writing anywhere those same people will utilize the clean river for recreational activities. They might get to spend way less time compared to the youth population and we don't know how accurate the survey was too! Adding to the same, the river was rarely used for such activities, which was not being maintained for a major period of time. So, even when the government plans to clean up the river and use the river for water sports, it is highly unlikely that people will turn up in large numbers regularly.

Secondly, the city's government did not bat an eye about the maintenance of river quality and keeping it clean for a very long time. And like stated in the paragraph, it was not until recently that the state had announced plans to clean up Mason river. Putting these two together, it definitely is not a guarantee that the river will be used for water sports to a large extent. Just after cleaning the river fully, the government would like to garner revenue by increasing tourism or by some other means, try to monetize the clean up act. A common argument here could be that of the introduction of recreational activities for the same reason - monetary benefit. But, I'd like to pose the question here - Right when you clean up your city's river after years of people's decry, would it be wise to think that the state would let public use the river and spoil it already? This also stems from the fact that once such activities start, the government would have to spend more money than normal for the maintenance of the river.

Finally, the last sentence is completely flawed in my opinion. The devotion of money should be majorly focused on the clean-up of the river rather than spending it on keeping the recreational activities up and running. The health of the river is vital for sustaining the ecosystem of any given place; lesser the importance given to such quintessential factors, the biosystem is surely in danger.

Hence, I have spotted a numerous logical fallacies and presented them out in a elaborate manner. Till the given argument answers the posed questions in a convincing manner, it will remain a wafer-thin proposal by the city's government and will need more explanation.