Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads,etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the unstated assumptions of the argument above and explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The crux of the argument is flawed and I can spot numerous logical fallacies in the above given argument. I would like to enumerate my viewpoints which will weaken the same in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the opening statement starts with a bold claim without any solid evidence to back it up. Any person who can afford roller-skates is bound to try out roller-skating and it is not always the professionals who do it. It could have been the case where most of the people injured after roller-skating or involved in such accidents were inexperienced and new people to try it out. And because they were new to this roller-skating, they might not have had adequate knowledge about the importance of protective gear. This very doubt weakens the claim when it indicates the need for 'more' protective equipment. A modicum of knowledge on the usage of existing protective equipment might have prevented those accidents reported by hospital. Also, it is important to note here that the hospital statistics does not clearly include if the people who ended up in emergency room after such accidents were actually professionals or inexperienced newbies.

Secondly, when the statistics brings out a huge number in the form of 75 percent, they also include the absence of light reflecting material, along with protective gear to support their claim. But, when taken a close look, even if an inexperienced person dons both protective gear and light reflecting material like clip-on lights, is it a surety that he/she will not end up in an accident? The reason for them being involved in such accidents might very well be attributed to the fact that they still haven't learned how to skate. So, a fully protected fledgling might still have to visit the emergency room. Also, what good will a light reflecting material do anyway? And how is it intricately linked to accidents? One might argue that it comes handy during the night time, but this essentially throws the entire blame on the usual riders on road. Wearing proper protective gear and a good sense of skating would be really helpful in reducing that hospital statistics.

Finally, the manner in which they made a claim and concluded is completely flawed, partly due to the same reasons stated above. 'Increased investments in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment will greatly reduce the risk of being severely injured in an accident', this begs the question - Will every person who skates adhere to the rules and wear these? Well, to be honest, no one knows. And the given reason is not flawed for just this one reason. Previously, it was maintained that majority of people who were involved in accidents were found not wearing any protective gear. This has nothing to do with investment in high quality equipment- for all you know, one would be wasting their money in such investment. Instead of all this, promoting the need for adhering to rules and wearing protective gear would do wonders in decreasing such skating accidents.

I would like to wrap up by saying that only when such above posed questions are answered, backed up with proper evidences, the given argument will hold true.