As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

I, to a greater extent, disagree with the given statement because of the fact that it has been stated the ability of humans will 'surely' deteriorate as people rely more and more on technology. I would like to enumerate my opinions and viewpoints regarding the same in the following paragraph.

Technology has undoubtedly evolved massively over the past few years and it is only going to experience an exponential growth in the near future. This steady rise in technology has shaped our world in a completely different way, one that none would have thought of (and by different, I mean in a positive way). One can ascribe this development to the intelligence of humans. In the first place, it is us humans who are contributing to this ever growing field and there has been active participation in the same only because of the tremendous response from what is called 'consumers'. If there was no one to acknowledge or appreciate these new inventions, it is highly likely that we would not be witnessing what we are right now. It is a no-brainer to maintain that technology has made human life easier and I would strongly agree with it too. But, this in no way is a guarantee humans have stopped thinking or will stop thinking for themselves in the near future. For instance, let us take the example of how machines works in a pharmaceutical manufacturing unit. A few years earlier, all these machines were operated by humans and there were at least three to four people closely and cautiously working with one machine to ensure purity of the products manufactured. This working of humans at these plants came at a great cost, not only with respect time, but also with the risk of fatal injuries. Coming back to our present day scenario, most of the work is now computerized with minimal human intervention. This has helped us overcome the previously discussed limitations. Now, with the advent of such a technology, in a pharmaceutical plant, is it true that humans' ability to think will deteriorate? The answer to this question is very simple - NO! . Even now, it is those chemists who decide what goes where, when and how. They set up the base formula for every batch and computers just assist them in the process, along with numerous advantages like reducing the time consumption, decreasing the risks of injuries, and many more.

The given statement might sometimes hold true to some extent. Humans might tend to get tad bit lazy towards their work and thus might lead to procrastination as well. But at the end of the day, the same old notion - "Too much of anything is good for nothing"- holds true here as well. It all depends on that individual how he likes to handle everything and go about his life. There are positives and negatives surrounding us, in every aspect of life; how one wants to deal with those is what makes him/her stand apart from the rest. I would like to conclude by saying that this humongous growth in technology has benefitted us greatly than it has decreased our thinking capabilities and it will remain the same, or even get better, in the years to come