The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

A clear ambiguity is present in the given argument and I could spot numerous logical fallacies in the same. I would like to enumerate my viewpoints and pose questions which would weaken the argument severely in the following paragraph.

Firstly, the claim made by Medical experts might not be very accurate. These experts maintain that "only" one quarter meet the "current standards" for adequate physical fitness and they compare this with the population of Corpora twenty years before. So many years before, the standards for testing physical fitness might have been different. What if the number of parameters used to deduce the fitness of an individual was way lesser than what we have in the present? It could have been also possible that medical experts who worked during that time were not as proficient as the ones we have today and the manner in which adequate physical fitness was determined might have been flawed. Or what if methods used for the determination of fitness levels are not accurate and precise? This leaves us to ponder about the fact whether one-half of all of Corpora's citizens were truly fit.

Secondly, these medical experts ascribe the decline in fitness to the increased use of computers, which again is dicey where the statement following it contradicts this suggestion by medical experts. Even though fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also high, does it certainly mean we can dismiss the suggestions of medical team without a second thought? The world has witnessed a enormous increase in population and it will continue to rise where we might reach ten billion mark in the near future! With that being said, Corpora's citizens are no exception to this universal increase. The fraction of Corpora's citizens using computers might be entirely different from the fraction that contributes to high levels of fitness. Therefore, it is not a clear judgement, making the argument flawed, once again.

Lastly, the argument claims that fitness levels will improve once economy improves. I can sense a logical fallacy here as well, indeed, a glaringly obvious one. It is not necessary that the use of fitness products and services are directly linked to one's fitness status. A person could choose to jog and exercise at his home and could still prove to be fit. Not everyone includes these products in their fitness regimen. The reason for the decline in fitness can be due to a number of reasons like seasonal changes, sedentary lifestyle preferred by people, or hectic work schedules and many more. If an individual wishes to be fit, and if the economy is poor, he could still become fit if he puts his body and mind in the right direction.

Hence, I would like to conclude by saying that there are numerous logical fallacies present in this argument and it will not hold valid unless it provides logical answers the posed questions and back up their claim with solid evidences.