The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I, to some extent, disagree with the given statement. Instilling a sense of cooperation is definitely one of the ways to bring up and prepare a society's young people, but is it the best way? I have certain reservations and will enumerate my opinions on the same in the following paragraph.

To start with, both cooperation and competition are startlingly contrast approaches, but both are essential in the upbringing of youth in a society. As both these have to blend in properly and must be inculcated in an individual right from the start, it would be wrong of us to dismiss the importance of competition and claim cooperation as the 'best' way. Be it government, industry or any other field, there is heavy competition everywhere, in every aspect of life. The human nature is to compete - from the time when primitive human beings used to earn a meal by competing with the other majestic animals to present day humans earning a meal by competing with other established brands and making their own one a success. Let us illustrate this point with an example. We are familiar with both McDonalds and Burger King - two well established fast food chain MNCs. And both these places serve almost the same kind of food. Yet, it is the healthy competition between these two which keeps both of the businesses up and running. Any lack of intent to compete with each other by any one of them would have resulted in loss of brand name for either one of them. When the first brand pops up with a novel marketing strategy, it is equally rivaled by the other second brand. Any business would thrive majorly because of competition. This was just an example emphasizing the importance of competition in business sector. I would like to extend my same claim over the other fields too. For instance, - 'it is not necessary for governments to survive through competition' - this would be our first thought. Well, fair enough. But if competition was absolutely unnecessary, why is there still a tag of underdeveloped nations or third world countries? Why is there so much fuss about imports, exports and ultimately GDP? To vaguely answer these questions, it would be easy to maintain what I had proposed earlier - there is competition in every aspect of life.

Again, emphasizing too much on competition and leaving out the importance of cooperation is again faulty. It is vital to note that the competition which I mentioned earlier, is supposed to be healthy competition. I would like to quote the old maxim - " Too much of anything is good for nothing". Extreme competition has the potential to grow bad and this can even become worse in cases where it might result in complete destruction, of anything! This is exactly where the role of cooperation comes into play. From one's early days, he/she can be inculcated good habits and along with it, a sense of cooperation would do wonders for the child in his/her future. Integrity will be maintained and nothing can possibly go haywire, given one knows theirs limits and where to draw that fine line.

I would like to wrap up by saying that, it is not just to claim cooperation as the best way to prepare the youth for leadership roles, but a right amount of competition is also very essential in the upbringing of people, for it might even turn out to play a major role in that individual's life later on.