Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

I, to some extent, would like to agree with the statement given above - "Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and resist unjust laws". I will support my claim by enumerating my opinions in the upcoming paragraph.

Laws make up the integral part of any country's constitution or broadly the functioning and people of the country are obliged to abide by those laws made. When every person starts to disobey the government and not maintain decorum, it would lead to cataclysm of the nation. Theft, embezzlement, rape, murder and other egregious criminal activities would increase drastically. It can be easily argued that it all depends on the individual, and if he is good at heart, there won't be any such immoral acts committed. But let me tell you, a human being's brain is very complex and intricate, and it very well is capable of not doing the right stuff at times. Imagine this scenario where a man has had a really bad day and is heading to his place for dinner; he is stopped by a drunk man on the road and is being riled by him by absolutely no reason. Now, it might not take much time for our man who has had a rough day to, hit him maybe? Okay that is offensive but here, both might end up recriminating each other while each one can have a solid defense for their stance. Coming back to the point of where it is fine to disobey unjust rules, I'll throw some light on it now.

What is right and what is wrong is a grey area even now. What might be right to one person might sound ridiculous and unjust to the other. I'm sure laws have been put in place after much deliberation by the cabinet and it's not likely that they might be unjust to a great extent which would evoke a large population to protest. I would like to clear my stance again here by saying I am not against protesting. In fact, I am going to cite an example where protesting in large numbers worked wonders for the people of Tamil Nadu. 'Jallikattu', a traditional festival in the south of India was going to be banned by PETA who cited animal abuse. The south Indians retaliated to this claim saying they know much better about taking good care of animals and they didn't want to let go of their traditional festival. The people had eventually won in the end, after successful protests - but it came at a great cost, hence a pyrrhic victory. It is important to note here that protesting for every thing won't do any good and that will only turn the nation into a graveyard.

One can't keep disobeying laws according to own will if he feels that is unjust to him. It is good to bring a change in democracy, and there are ways to file a complain and revoke orders or laws. But blindly not abiding to the laws and doing what you feel is right is essentially wrong because from a third person's view, the very same law which you are disobeying might look very just to him and that will cause the population to be flummoxed by one's attitude.