The following appeared in a business magazine."As a result of numerous complaints of dizziness and nausea on the part of consumers of Promofoods tuna, the company requested that eight million cans of its tuna be returned for testing. Promofoods concluded

Merely based on the results of the chemists from Promofoods, the arguer suggests that the tuna cans which are suffering from considerable amount of complaints do not pose a health risk. He then provides the analytical conclusion of the chemicals in the tuna, that is five common blamed chemicals were not found while three suspected chemicals were found in small dose. Furthermore, he claims the small amounts of these chemicals are naturally in all canned foods. The argument may sound appealing and convincing at the first glance, however, a few questions should be answered in order to evaluate the accuracy of the recommendation.

Fist of all, the methods and the details of the experiment conducted by the chemists should be revealed. Without the large amount of tuna cans being examined and a randomly selecting pattern, the results of the tests may remain dubious. Even if the chemists operated the experiment with large quantity and arbitrary selection of cans, the samples should contain the blamed ones rather than the produced ones. There is a possibility that samples produced in certain factories are toxic, which only make up a small portion of the returned cans, thus collecting the ones which are complained is more effective. In all, the methods and details of the tests remain unsounded.

Secondly, the interpretation of the results is assailable. The chemists made a simple comparison between the blamed cans and the normal cans, which leads to the conclusion that the chemicals found in the returned cans do not cause health problems. Nevertheless, the comparison is ungrounded, maybe the chemicals in tuna could interact with the chemicals in the cans and as a result, the dizziness is triggered merely in the tuna cans. In conclusion, the small dose of chemicals could possibly cause severe diseases.

At last but not the least, the argument is proposed with insufficient experiments and evidence. Possibility still lies in this situation that some chemicals which are not commonly reported cause the nausea and dizziness. Also, without the experimental evidence that such tuna would not cause the symptoms by testing the behaviors of the people who eat, the real effects could not be revealed.

To sum up, with my cogently discussion, the argument is still flawed until some questions above are answered to examine the validity.