The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee."We recommend that Grove College preserve its century-old tradition of all-female education rathe

The president makes a recommendation based on there different surveys of faculty members, students and allumnae that Grove College should preserve its tradition of all-female education. The argument seems appealing, however, a few questions should be answered in order to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument would be undermined if the statement made by the faculty members that coeducation would encourage more students to apply to Grove is proved to be false. By spurning the old tradition, surely some parents who are in favor of the all-female education would not send their daughters to Grove, thus there may be a significent drop of the numbers of females. Also, considering that the school may not be well prepared to educate male students, it is plausible that few males will apply to Grove. All in all, it is dubious that the number of students would increase.

Questions that whether the students' opinions are reasonable should be answered. If the survey conducted by the students government only be responded by few students, the results are doubtful. Also, the range of students should be showed because the survey may deliberately ask conservative students thus it will result in conservative outcome.

The number of total alumnae and the ones who responded to the survey should be provided. If the school has few alumnae, the result could not be representive. Also, how can they be sure that the ones who opposed coeducation would give financial support to the college rather than the ones who espoued it?

In conclusion, questions of the three surveys should be answered to evaluate the recommendation. Only providing results within large group, the recommendation could be resonable.