The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning f

I generally disavow this statement because it is suggesting a "all or nothing" situation. However, the argument may hold true in some circumstances and our attitude strongly determines the accuracy of this statement.

If we treat the luxuries and conveniences as the natural products of human culture, then there is no doubt that we should value them and appreciate them because they are our cultural matrix. In our contemporary life, those cultural products are generally high technologies, for instance, smart phones, cars and the Internet. One can make use of them and acquire knowledge from them, thus live up to be a strong individual. For example, in some schools, students use their iPads to answer the teacher's questions and finish the online homework, they can also take university classes with the help of the Internet. It is the convenience the technology provides us that allow us to gain knowledge and to be strong and independent.

However, if we only consider the conveniences as entertainment tools, the argument may hold true. Research shows that there's a large amount of students who are addicted to online games and videos. With the indulgent of the online entertaining sources, one cannot focus on study and dawdle all the time. What's worse, some corporations are exerting their talents to attract students, thus it is getting hard to reject them.

As we have discussed above, whether or not one can live up to be a strong and independent individual is strongly determined by his or hers attitude, thus teaching people to make use of the conveniences and keep away from the indulgent is important. The argument suggests a "all or nothing" statement, which I disagree with, should be altered as "without adequate attitude, the conveniences can prevent people from developing into independent individuals".