A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches.

The argument suggests that with the use of the salicylates as flavor additives for foods, the residents of Mentia will suffer fewer headaches in the future, which is based on the premise that salicylates could be a surrogate of aspirin with a significant effects on reducing headaches according to a twenty-year study. It may seems plausible and appealing at the first glimpse, however, without further investigation on certain aspects, the argument is still remain doubtful and dubious.

Firstly, examining whether the drug has the negative side effects is of great importance in order to make sure of the medicine safety. As many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, adding the drugs to the foods as preservatives may lead to the result of overdose. These is a strong possibility that negative side effects will emergence while the gradient of the drugs grows higher, thus the safety of the drugs should be well-examined before we accept the argument.

Secondly, the correlation of salicylates and a decline in the average number of headaches is ungrounded unless details are provided. With no awareness of the mechanism of the drugs, the empirical results of the study are unsounded. We can imagine that the participants may take up healthier lifestyle after being caught by headaches during the twenty years, as a result, the number of their reports of headaches will certainly decrease, thus nullify our extrapolation that it is the drug which ameliorate the headaches. Moreover, the number of participants and whether they were randomly chosen should also be provided in the results for giving a more convincing argument.

At last, it is not guaranteed that the patients who suffer from the headaches will take the food with the medicine adding to it. They may not be aware of the news that the companies are doing so aiming to reduce headaches or they may disgust and disincline the taste of food for personal reasons. Accordingly, the actions of adding salicylates as flavor additives may end up with failure or with trivial effects.

To sum up, with my cogently analysis, the argument that the rate of headaches will significantly reduced is untenable until further questions are answered.