Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Apart from delivering knowledge to students, a teacher should also devote in building students' sense of responsibility, and guiding them to choose their suitable careers. And it is important that the teacher should make academic progress as well. Above all, a teacher's salary should be fully and meticulously determined with the consideration of all of these aspects. Thus considering the role of teacher merely as cultivating students with outstanding academic performance, the suggestion that teachers' salaries should be based on their students' performance is untenable.

The subjects and methods in evaluating the academic performance should be reconsidered in this argument. Firstly, a teacher's academic progress is of the same importance of a student's performance. It is unreasonable for one who is insufficient in knowledge to teacher others, thus the salary should be based on both the teacher's and students' performance. Secondly, the general method of evaluation is having tests, which is a deviation from the kernel. Students with high test scores could not be guaranteed to be a good scholar in the future, rather they may merely be the ones who are capable of reciting text books. In all, the salary should be determined by academic performance is untenable.

Apart from cultivating students with exceptional academic performance, the teachers are playing their roles in planning students' future and building their social responsibility. The purpose of education is not merely about delivering knowledge, but also expecting the youth to make a better future society by retaining and using the knowledge. The term "egoist" is used to describe someone who only consider oneself and give no attention to others. With the society replete with such egoists, a country could not be operating. The situation is similar to a oak tree is no longer growing with parasites sucking its sap. Thus, a teacher should take the responsibility to guide and educate students to be a altruistic and useful person.

With the consideration of such roles, it is parochial to say that the teachers' salaries should be based on their students' performance.