Some people believe that government officials must carry out the will of the people they serve. Others believe that officials should base their decisions on their own judgment.

Being selected as a representative of people, government officials should carry out the will of people according to the meaning of democracy. I generally agree with the idea of representing people's will, however, I think the methods should mainly be based on governors' decisions.

Government officials should be careful with their actions and be meticulous about carrying out people's will, otherwise they will lose their position. In European history, tyrannies in British and France abused their forces without awareness of people's ideas, thus revolutions broke out and they were forced to give in their power.

Government officials should be a representative of people owing to the meaning and procedure of election. During an election, citizens choose a governor who is willing to apply policies that generally suit people's will. How can one be a good governor if he does not represent people's will?

Nevertheless, the methods and details of policies can be mainly based on the governor's decisions. Generally, the officials people selected are the most talented and visionary ones among all competitors, thus they would have the ability and wisdom to figure out the details of policies. However, generally the purpose of the policies should be determined by people they serve.

As I have discussed above, it is clear that government officials should carry out the will of the people, while the details and the methods of their policies could be based on their own decisions.