Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable, for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that the public has a right to be fully informed.

While some people hold the view that political leaders should withhold information from the public in order to benefit from this act, others believe that the public has a right to be informed. With the consideration and comparison of both views, I generally espouse the view that citizens deserve full information because it is the best way to restrict the leaders' power and prevent the leaders from growing laziness and inefficiency.

On the one hand, with the limitation of information, the leaders would lose motivation to improve their work and easily grow laziness. It may also result in the centralization of political power by blocking out the adversaries' opinions. For instance, President Trump was blamed for blocking hundreds of negative comments in his Twitter account. The judge claimed that Trump has no rights to inhibit different views in a public account. In Trump's view, it is desirable to withhold opposing information, however, with consideration to the public welfare, this act would cultivate the president's laziness and thus lead to inefficiency.

On the other hand, with the elucidation of the information, public can exert their talents to supervise and restrict the government's power. The separation of the powers in America is the best instance. By dividing the political power into the court's, the president's, and the constitution's hands, the power would have a perfect balance. When the scrutinizing power of public involves owing to the transparency of the information, the political institutions would have to behave themselves and put efforts to enhance social well-beings. In conclusion, public has the rights to get full information so as to supervise the political power.

To sum up, as I have cogently discussed above, I can reach a conclusion that in order to promote social welfare, the information of the political leaders should be fully provided and publicized to the citizens. As a result, the public could better scrutinizing the political power and prevent the leaders from being lazy.