The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend

is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey,

players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with

an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that

the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these

assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the editorial, it is stated that the sales of Whirlwind video games will drastically increase in the upcoming months. The author came to this conclusion based on the fact that, Whirlwind introduced games with high graphics quality and conducted widespread advertising campaign. However, the author's conclusion is predicated upon several unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weakens the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus the following three assumptions must be addressed.

Firstly, the author presumes that gamers prefer games with lifelike graphics that require high configuration devices. But this may not be necessarily true. Perhaps only a few gamers have the luxury to buy High-configuration computers as the GPUs that come with them are really expensive. It is possible that the majority of the gamers can't afford these devices. Indeed, even if the gamers have the opulence to buy these gaming accessories there is a potential that they don't like such embellished, over-elaborate, intricately designed games. They might still be attached to classic & simple games that they have been enjoying over the past. If either of these cases are true, the author's claim that the Whirldwind's recently introduced games will be preferred by gamers does not hold water.

Second of all, in the business magazine editorial, the author claims that the video games sales trend is going to have an upward trajectory. However this may not be the case. Since games which contains immaculate graphics requires skilled game developers, artists, VFX team, story writer and many more, making such game needs a huge investment. Perhaps the salary of these employees and production cost reaches to such an extent that, even if the sales reach millions this will hardly meet up the expenses of the investors. It is possible that one or two of these top quality games become a flop and, that company incur a massive loss which might discourage other game development companies to make such lifelike games. If either of these cases is true, then the author's contention that gaming companies will see an upward sales trend is significantly weakened.

Finally, even if it is true that futuristic games will be accepted by the gamers and video gaming companies will have enough resource to produce these demanding pieces of art, the author assumes that Whirlwind's newly introduced game will be accepted among the gaming community. But this may prove unwarranted. It is likely that new games urge the ardent gamers to give them a try. It is possible that these games are Whirldwind's first lifelike graphics game and they are inexperienced in this genre of games. There is a possibility that these games might not fulfill the expectations of eagerly waiting gamers and thus refuse to buy games from this company in future. Furthermore, perhaps the advertising campaigns were not directed to the proper age-group gamers as these lifelike games may be too realistic, non-fictional and over-exacting to the younger population. Thus, the matured taste might be unaware of Whirlwind's game even though they are keen to play them. If it is true that Whirlwind's game can't fulfill the expectation of its fans, then the author's assertion is invalid and his prediction that the company will see increased sales is little likely to happen.

In conclusion, the author may have come to a sound conclusion and Whirlwind video games might achieve their expected sales. However, as it stand now, the argument relies on three unwarranted assumptions that renders its conclusion unpersuasive at best and specious/fallacious at worst. If the author is able to provide addition evidences for these three assumptions, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the validity of the argument that whether sales of Whirldwind video games will expand in the upcoming months.