The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the health magazine, the author refutes the claim of the medical experts by stating that computer usage among the citizens of Corpora is not the reason for the decline in fitness level. The author bases his/her assumption on the reasons that Corpora has the highest fitness levels in the regions where computer ownership is also high. Also, the decline in fitness levels was correlated with a decrease in the sales of fitness related products and services which in turn is due to economic decline, stating that fitness levels will pick up when the economy improves. The conclusion drawn by the author seems to hold water. However, it rests on several unfounded assumptions as indicated above. If these assumptions are unsubstantiated, they dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be answer.

First, the author assumes that because the region where computer ownership is highest also have the highest fitness level, then computer usage does not result in a decline in fitness level. A closer observation will reveal that computer ownership does not equate computer usage. While it is expected that a computer owner will use their computer, nothing can guarantee that the usage will be high. It is even possible that computer owners rarely use their computer since it is always accessible while non-computer owners will tend to spend more time using public computers since they can’t always access it. The time then spent in using public computers could have been used in improving their fitness levels. If this is discovered to be true, then the assumption is substantially flawed and cannot be used as a basis for the conclusion drawn.

Furthermore, the author assumes that because the sales of fitness related products and services are low then the fitness levels of the citizens must be low. While this may be plausible, there is no guarantee that it is. The fitness products purchased previously could still be used for fitness training. Also, not all fitness training or exercise are dependent of fitness products and services. Taking a jog or doing squats are fitness exercise that help to improve ones overall fitness levels without the need for fitness products or services. Also, it could be that the weather in Corpora in recent times have made it difficult for outdoor fitness training or exercise. If the weather is not suited for outdoor fitness training or exercise, then this could also be a reason for the decline in the sales of fitness related products or services. If any of the aforementioned is found to be true, it significantly reduces the validity of the assumption made by the author.

Lastly, it was assumed by the author that the decline in economic activity is directly correlated with the decline in the fitness levels of Corpora citizens, and that fitness levels will improve when the economy improves. There is no hard data or research that corroborates this assumption by the author. Often times, when there is an overall improvement in the economy of a region, it means the citizens have more disposable income. With more disposable income, they tend to buy more gadgets and go for vacations. All of which could result in a lower fitness level as many may forget to pay attention to their fitness level in the midst of a surplus but rather be focused on the new gadgets or exotic foods money can buy. If this is also found to be true, again the assumption made by the author is flawed and it’s persuasiveness significantly affected.

In conclusion, while the author may have come up with a reasonable conclusion regarding the fitness levels and computer usage of the citizens of Corpora, more tested and proven assumptions are needed before a definite conclusion can be made.