Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Every sovereign nation on Earth is governed by a set of laws formulated and agreed upon by the nation’s ruling class. A nation without laws is one characterised by chaos. Ultimately, for any nation to experience tranquillity, development and progress, the activities of its citizens must be subjected to laws that will help achieve the aforementioned. While we can all agree that some laws do become obsolete and need to be abolished or some become archaic and need to amended, I disagree that individuals in a society has a responsibility to obey and disobey laws on the basis that such laws are either just or unjust. In the following paragraphs, I will be explaining why I disagree with the claim.

Firstly, laws are most times not decided by an individual. In a democratic nation, laws are often subjected to debates and polls before they can be accepted as laws. These debates often times occur amongst the finest brains a nation has to offer. It is for this reason amongst others that one can safely say that for a law to be passed it is most likely just. Seeing the process that laws undergo before becoming laws, it is wrong to bestow upon an individual whose level of education, reasoning and personal prejudice is unknown the responsibility to decide whether a law is just and unjust. Take for example, a nation where it is permitted by law that a woman can abort a pregnancy in some instances. A medical practitioner can decide to deny a woman the right to abort a pregnancy simply because this medical practitioner thinks that abortion is unjust or is of the religious view that abortion is an immoral act without taking into consideration the woman’s reason(s) for wanting an abortion despite being backed by the law.

Furthermore, if the individuals in a society are given the responsibility of obeying laws based on their decision that they are right or wrong, this would most likely lead to a situation where people will completely disregard some laws and excuse their disobedience based on the reasoning that they think such laws are unjust. During the heat of the Covid-19 pandemic, with lockdown and various restrictions and laws put in place to ensure the safety of the citizens. Among such laws was the law to always ensure that a face mask is used at all times whenever you are in a public space. Some people then in their own opinion started a movement propagating a notion that face masks are an inconvenience, and that they do not necessarily prevent the spread of the coronavirus. If given the responsibility to obey or disobey a law based on the reason that they think it is just on unjust, these set of people will most likely disobey the law to use facemasks in public spaces. Thereby compromising the safety of other citizens and undermining the effort of the government to control the spread of the corona virus.

Lastly, I know that some might be of the opinion that not all laws are just. They would most likely bring up the case that slavery was once considered just and even legal. While this is true, it still doesn’t excuse the claim that individual should obey laws based on their discretion. There is a process to recall laws, abolish and even amend laws. As the society continues to evolve, some laws will be subjected to change. The individuals of a society reserve the right to call for the abolition or amendment of certain laws. This is a more logical way to accept and obey laws that are considered just rather than leaving an individual to make such decision. Let it be known that with absolute power comes absolute corruption. Giving individuals the responsibility to obey law based at their discretion of it being just or unjust will most likely result in chaos.