MEN AND WOMEN, BECAUSE OF THEIR INHERENT PHYSICAL DIFFERENCES, CANNOT PERFORM EQUITABLE TASKS.

Biologically, men and women possess inherent physical differences. However, does this mean that there are some tasks better suited to men and some better suited to women? I agree that this is true. Men and women alike share many similarities physically, mentally and emotionally. While there are some tasks that are not gender specific, there are some that are gender specific. For the reasons, there will be tasks better performed by one gender when compared to the other. In the following paragraphs, I will be discussing the reason why I think this is true.

Considering some biological roles between men and women, It is evident that the task of child bearing can only be perfomed by women. This is because women are biologically equipped with the organs that make the task of child bearing possible. The woman has a womb that houses the feotus from conception to delivery. Upon delivery, the woman also posses mammary glands that not only contains milk to feed the baby, but also contains colostrum which has been proven to contain certain antibodies and nutrients that are central to the survival and growth of the new born. Consequently, it is recommended by the World Health Organisation (WHO) that new borns are to be feed exclusively breast milk at the early stages of their development as this is crucial to the development of the baby mentally and physically. While there are scientific and technologically advancement that can allow men become pregnant and maybe breast feed a baby, this kind of endeavours do come with certain complications that can prove fatal to both the baby and the man.

Moving on from the task of child bearing, certain activites that are high risk and labour intensive are better for men. Take for instance the construction and mining industry in the industrial period. Construction workers and cavemen were predominantly men. This is still true to date. This is because men are physically stronger when compare to female and as such they can endure tasks that require a lot of physical strength for a much longer period when compared to females. In addition, the safety conditions during the industrial era where not as developed as they currently are which meant that most contruction and mining activities were high risk. An example is the contruction of they Empire state building. As at the period when the building was being contructed, safety harness were not a yet a safety requirement. Men are able to take on such high risk and labour intensive jobs due to the fact that they have a higher level of totestorone - a hormone found in men that is responsible for the development of secondary characteristics in men amongst other.

While most of the tasks that exist in our modern society tends to be more mentally demanding and less physically demanding such as roles in the banking and technological sector. However, there are still tasks that are better suited for men rather than women and vice versa.