A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I mostly disagree with the prompt. In most cases, perpetrators of crime are miscreants. Such person engages in the absolute defiance of the law. Laws as we all know are put in place to help ensure the safety, security and order of a particular region. Anyone who breaks the law by engaging in crime is indirectly aiming at undermining the safety, security and order of the region. If such a person is not striped of his or her civil rights such as the ability to vote, access to social care funded by the taxes of law-abiding citizens e.t.c., then others would see nothing bad in knowingly breaking the law. This further undermining the safety, security and order of that region. Take for example a situation where an individual knowingly commits tax fraud. Such a person is tried and found to be guilty of the crime they have commited. If the civil rights of such an individual is retained despite knowingly commiting the crime, then it would only further encourage others to do same because they know that they will still have their civil rights intact and that they can benefit from their own labour.

However, this is not always the case. An individual may be well aware that they are about to commit crime and still do so. It is not always the case that such a person is trying to break a social contract. There are some situation that warrants that a person has to break a law, thus committing crime inorder to prevent a bad situation from getting worse. This is evident in cases of self-defense and trying to save a fellow citizen whose life is in danger, and saving such a person involves committing a crime. As extreme as this may sound, there are situations that indeed warrants such actions. In a situation where a known serial kidnapper is trying to abduct school kids on their way back from school, a neighbour who is armed tries to prevent such an occurence from happening by firing warning shoots to scare of the kidnappper. The kidnapper ignores the warning shots and proceeds to abduct these school kids, leaving the neighbour no choice than to shoot the kidnapper. In the process, the kidnapper dies and the children escape abduction. Should we then conclude that the neighbour who just murdered the kidnapper and is aware that murder is a crime should not retain the right to any civil rights? I am certain that you will agree that such shouldn't be.

Another example was during the Covid-19 lockdown in Nigeria, government officials decided to lock up palliatives donated by private organisations to be distributed to the masses. Due to a priod of civil unrest that resulted during this period ( the END SARS protest), the masses in their respective region discovered the location of where these palliatives were stored and decided to loot these palliatives since it was supposed to be distributed to them. Looting is a crime punishable by law in Nigeria. Should we then conclude that because the masses commited crime by looting what was rightly theirs, that their civil rights be rescinded from them? Again, the answer is no as this is only oppressing those who were already oppressed.

In conclusion, I do not think that it is of the greater good if people who knowingly commits crime are stripped of their civil right and the right to benefit from their labour.