The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The findings of the medical experts stated in the magazine article appear dubious. It seems to not have considered a couple of factors driving fitness in Corpora. And it makes predictions on assumptions relating to the economy which is likely to be false.

The statement comparing one- fourth of Corpora's current population with one-half of the population twenty years ago is ambiguous because the exact population in the span is not known. If the population of Corpora has grown over twenty years, which is likely to happen considering the global population increase as we know and the argument hinting at the use of computers in the region, then it may imply that the count of citizens qualifying as fit now could be greater than the count twenty years ago. Therefore, an appropriate numerical basis needs to be established instead of confounding fractions.

The medical experts have tried to draw a correlation between the strength of computer owners and their fitness. This correlation between computer owners and fitness doesn't imply causation. An alternate situation is possible that the regions with higher computer ownership are more well off economically and more urban with adequate fitness facilities. This implies that the citizens can afford fitness improvement practices like gym protein diet, healthy fruit juices and all the like, along with the enough availability of the same. On the other hand, regions with lower computer ownership might be comprised more of people who are not economically well off to afford or have no access to- fitness improvement methods.

Moreover, the experts' assumption that low expenditure on fitness-related products in the current year cannot necessarily be based on the decline in the economy. The Internet is a source of free fitness-related videos, articles on a good diet, and often imparts wisdom on how one could become fit without spending much. The rise in the number of such cogent sources on the internet could have been a cause for the low spendings on fitness products.

The argument is based on disputable assumptions and excludes hidden factors such as the quantification of the population and the way of living of computer owners in different regions. Also, the prediction of improvement of fitness levels with a rising economy cannot be guaranteed.