The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author argues here that the economy decline is the reason behind the current lower level of fitness not using computers as experts suggest. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention many several keys in the basis it could be evaluated. In support of this conclusion, the author notes that the low expenses on fitness-related products is low this year. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals it provides little credible support to the authors's conclusion. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily comapred betwwen the number of high-fitness residents between this year and 20 years ago. The author mantioned that one-half of all Corpora's resident in the past and quarter at this year. He didn't mention the whole figures of population in that two times. It does not make sense to comapre between only two ratios without knowing the exact number.

Secondly, the author points out that the overall fitness levels are highest in the regions of Corpora where is oweners of computer are highest. This is a merely an assupmtion made without much solid ground. For example, have he implemented a survey to prove that assumprion? The argument would have been much more convincing if it had statical survey to prove that assumptions.

Thirdly, the author cites that the reason is not using computer. This again is a weak and unsupported assumptions. He should implement on site interview to ask people about the actual reasons.

Finally, the argument concludes that the decline in economic is the main problem of residents lower fitness this year. The author have not presented any numbers indicates that decline in economic. Without mentioning any refernce or numbers that prove that decline, the reader is left with the impression that this conclusion is only wishful thinking.

In conclusion, the argument is unpursuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author should provide more concrete evidence. Perhaps by wayof detailed analysis of past-years expexnses on fitness and current ones. The author should provide more information about the population of Corpora's resident now and in the past and the exact number of computers' owners in the highly fitness regions.