The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues here to use Zeta construction company for the new building project rather than Alpha company. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention many several keys on the basis it could be evaluated. On the support of this recommendation, the author stated that Zeta constructed old building for his company which has lower energy consumption and lower maintenance costs than the other building constructed by Alpha. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals little credible support for the author's recommendation. Hence, the argument can be considered unsubstantiated and incomplete.

First of all, the argument readily compares between the two building based on the consumption of energy and maintenance cost. This is merely and unlogic comparison and made without much solid ground. The operation condition of the two building may be different. For example, is the number of employees the same in those two old building? Hence, the argument would have been more convincing if it stated the numbers of people using the two building are the same.

Secondly, the author cites that the two buildings have the same floor plans. However, the one built by Zta was 30 % much in cost that the other one built by Alpha. This is an indicator that Alpha is an economic and efficient construction company. There is a question, what is the reason behind this difference in cost? If it was due to using better material or something like that, it would be a reasonable reason. If they are the same, then it is unlogic and uneconomic to use Zeta to build the new one.

Finally, any company wants to build a new project, it hires a construction company that gives the lowest price with commitment of all conditions and structural safety of the new building. Alpha company is already offered the lowest price to construct the new building in the bid. So, why the author is recommending to go for other company? are there any other reasons that can convince the reader.

In conclusion, the author recommendation is not valid. He is comparing between two building on the basis of energy consumption and maintenance. To better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about the motive of preferring Zeta company.