The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire, because it has spectacular natural beauty and a consistent climate. Another advantage is that housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Moreover, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. And best of all, retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author argues here that Clearview town is one of the best choice for retirees to live after retirement. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention many several keys on the basis it could be evaluated. In support of this suggestions fo the retirees, the author mention that this town has a wonderful natural beauty and consistent climate. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's recommendation. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete and unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the wonderful natural and climate are the main advatage to choose the place for retirement. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, the existance of good services in the place has more importance than the climate and nature. Hence the argument would have been much more convincing if it had stated more information about the existing services like schools, streets, and other public services.

Secondly, The author cites that the mayor of clearview promises to do improvements to the existing public services. This may mean that the current residents are not satisfied with the current level of the services. If the services had been in satisfactory conditions to residents, then there is no need to announce for improvements.

Thirdly, The author noted that housing costs have fallen in the past year. He didn't mention the reasons behind that. There are many possibilities that we can assume. One of these possibilities, many residents leave Clearview and many houses have to be sold. If we consider this possibility, this may give an indicator that the author's recommendation is not valid and it is only a wishful thinking.

Finally, the author stated that the physician in the area is greater than the national avearge. This raises many skeptical questions. For example, What are the reasons for that? Is there many patients in this area which may mean diseaes pread out in Clearview? Without convincing answers to this questions, the argument can not be valid.

In conclusion, The author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands for. To bolster it further, the authors must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of detailed analysis. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about existing public services, the reasons behind falling housing cost.