The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author's argument that the citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles is convincing, but flawed. Various pieces of evidence are listed to support this claim, although each uses potentially invalid assumptions, which therefore indicates that the argument may ultimately not be sound. Some examples of questionable assumptions are that the increased amount of kiran sold is beneficial to health, that the reduction of sales of sulia is indicative of a healthy habit, and that the eating habits of Forsythe residents are telling of their overall health habits.

First, the statement that the sales increase of kiran is indicative of health is problematic. Although kiran was shown to reduce cholesterol, this doesn't mean that kiran is beneficial in all circumstances. Kiran may actually be detrimental by reducing the amount of "good cholesterol" present in those who eat it, which many health specialists consider to be a necessary component of a good diet. The author also doesn't mention how much kiran in eaten by the citizens of Forsythe, nor do they mention how much kiran is required to show the effect of reducing cholesterol. Because of this, the citizens may not be consuming nearly enough of this food to experience the potentially beneficial effects.

Similarly, the author makes a faulty assertion that sulia is an unhealthy food, and the reduced sales of it are indicative of a healthier lifestyle. However, the fact that few of the most healthy citizens eat this food means little. It very well may be the case that this food is not popular at all, so it isn't eaten regularly by most of the citizens in general, not just the most healthy. Alternatively, healthier citizens may not eat a lot of sulia for non-health reasons -- perhaps they just tend to have a dislike of the food for an unrelated reason.

Finally, the author doesn't assess other components of a healthy lifestyle. Facts about the citizens' habits of brushing and flossing their teeth, exercising, and other important components of well-being are not addressed, and therefore may vastly outweigh any potential benefits of the listed facts.

Overall, the statement that the citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles should not be taken at face value. To confirm this statement, more evidence would be necessary to support the assumptions regarding the health benefits of kiran, the detrimental effects of sulia, and many other factors of the citizens' lifestyles.