The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of accidents caused by bicycling has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus there is clearly a call for the government to strive to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents by launching an education program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use that are necessary for bicycle safety."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it seem that people feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risk and their is need to launch an eduction program that concentrates on the factors other than helmet use by government. But there is lot of weakness in the arguement.

While it is stated that despite increase in use of helmets by people, there is increase in number of accidents by 200 percent during same ten year period but the number of accidents happened this year by all vehicles and a decade earlier is never mentioned. During last ten years,there has been significant increase in population. Population increase has waxed the number of vehicles on road to many folds. It was published in a news magazine, that there has been 400 percent increase in number of accidents during last nine year period. 200 percent increase in bicycle accidents are maybe due to increased number of bicycles.

Furthermore, earlier age limit to ride a bicycle on district lanes was 11 years, which was reduced to 8 years eight years ago. As reported by Times News Channel a larger number of accidents are caused by or caused due to children under eleven. Most of these accidents are not very serious. Government should increase the age limit back to 11 years as child younger then that are not matured enough to ride a bicyle on district lanes.

Moreover, earlier there were seprate lanes for motorcyclists and cyclists in the state. But due to increase in number of vehicles, there is no seprate lanes for cyclists. A large part of accidents are caused by motorcylists fault rather than cyclists fault which has nothing to do with helmets. And these accidents can not be avoided by teaching cyclists safety measures.