"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may seem true that by initiating an online degree problems like those at omni Humana university will able to increase enrollment and solve budget problems, but there is lot of weakness in argument.

It is stated that number of student enorelled in oniline degree programs offered by Omni University is in increased by 50 percent, but the total increase in enrollment is not mentioned. There could be two students in online degree program in Omni past year, then a 50 percent increase means an increase of one person that will not make a significant difference.

Furthermore, there is no indication, how was the condition of dormitory and classroom in both the universities three years hence. Omni showed a significant decrease in expenditures of classrooms and dormitory over past year, maybe because they might have undergone renowation just one or two years ago. Hanuma university, one of the oldest universities, had not gone renowation from about last 20 years, which would have waxed the maintainance costs of buildinds.

Morever, fees received from students who are peursing online programms and offline programs is not known. Generally institue offers onilne programs at much cheaper price than offline programs . Profits received from online programs is much less than offline programs. So, increasing number pf students in online program might not increase revenues. To reduce maintanance cost, there should be complete renowation of buildings.