The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art

department at the college.

“In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an

internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40

percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs,

located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a

number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is

sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible

working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design

business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of

Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in

a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art

students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation.”

While it seem that internship increases the chances of finding a job and Skyway Designs is perfect interprise for students to do an internship, But there is lot of weaknesses in the argument.

It is stated that 90 percent who participated in survey agreed that participating in an internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but the number of people participated in survey is never mentioned. Maybe a small portion of students took part in survey, so it could be the viewpoint of a small group of people.

Furthermore,Skyway Design is known as one of the best in design business, as over 80 percent of besinesses have used their services, but as Skyway Design is not ble to keep upto date with recent design techniques and opening of new design companies have reduced the business and reoputation of Skyway.

Moreover,Skyway design offers internship in every department, but number of students Skyway can accomodate is not mentioned. Linford graduating schools have 5000 students while Skyway Design offers 500 internships.Authenticity of survey is not known, if it has been taken by amateur students conducting survey for first time or if it is taken by some official. An amateur survey's finding might should not be taken seriously till an official approves it, there can flaws in its findings.Skyway provides internships only to the students with good academic records. While, they have flexible hours for working, but number of working hours is more than any other company, which could affect students academic.

So, from the information provided, it is sure that internship provides some help to students in getting a job. But, it cannot be concluded if internship is the best