The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gasetter sates that during the summer over 100,000 people visit the island. This gives rise to more accidents involving pedestrians and mopeds. The letter suggest to reduce the number of rental mopeds from 50 to 25 per day for a rental companies. The council believe that will attain 50 percent less accidents because a similar system was tried on a neighbouring island of Seaville. The argument seems logical at first glance. However, the argument lacks credibility as the author has overlooked a few vital points that are necessary for its logical convincing.

Firstly, the argument assumes that because of the increase in population due to the visitors visiting the island in summer there has been an rise in accidents which involves moped. For instance, it could be possible since the moped is the popular mode of transportation, the accidents are taking place not by the visitors but by the people of Balmer Island only. No data is presented that the visitors are responsible for the accidents. Without the data, that who are involved in the accidents happening in the island it cannot be assumed that the visitors are responsible and thus the assumption becomes feeble.

Secondly, the argument assumes that by reducing the number of rented moped from fifty to twenty five there would be less accidents on the road. It could be possible that with the reduction of the mopeds on the road, people might take other mode of transportation to travel around the island. There is no guarantee that this will lead to reduction in accidents further. The moped being the popular mode of transportation in the island, people might be visiting the island for moped driving. With the reduction of mopeds on the road, the visitors might reduce, this may affect economics of the island aslo.

Finally, the argument assumes that because a similar system was implemented in the neighboring island of Seaville, the system would work in Balmer Island also. It might be possible that Seaville might not have moped as their popular mode of transportation and they might be having other safe modes of travelling around the island. Last year, it is possible that Seaville received a less number of visitors than Balmer island and because of that they were able to achieve reduction in accidents cases. Assuming without the figures from Seaville, that balmer island will also achieve fifty percent reduction in accidents is dubious claim.

In sum, with the lack of profound analysis done on the island, supporting logics and comprehensive reasoning the argument seems to be ill- founded. However, the argument could have strenghtened if figures of Seaville island, tourists who use mopeds that are involved in accidents and also how reduction in mopeds will reduce accidents is mentioned only then the argument could be better.