The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper."The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time perio

In the letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper, it is written that the number of dairy firms has been increased by 25 percent against 10 years ago. During the same time price of milk also increased per gallon. So government decides to take the control in its hand to prevent farmers from making huge profit and regulate consumer prices to help consumers. From the statement it is quite evident that there are so many opaque things incorporated in the statement. With so many unclear facts, it is generally unwise to take such a drastic measure. We need to dig deeper to the fact.

First it is mentioned that dairy firms' count has been increased by 25 percent against the records 10 years ago and so there is greater supply of milks. But it is very fallacious judgement skill that author shows here. We cannot know how many dairy firms are there in the area that are producing only milks. We don't have proper records to substantiate the statement. May be those firms are only producing dairy products. So, it is not a good idea to glen the total facts from a not so well researched data.

Secondly, it is told there that there is a certain increase in the price of milks per gallon. So its neither means farmers are getting good profits nor they are charging high prices per gallon milk intentionally. It may be possible that cost of production is relatively high due to high market price of raw materials and as well as technologies that are immersed here to produce milks. So, at the end, what profit farmers earn cannot tally with the production cost, so they are reluctantly increasing the milk price. So, we have to well versed with the current market scenario as well as we have to make more survey regarding the current price stability in market to get the clear picture. Without well research, it is very immature to announce such things.

Thirdly, there is also a possibility as said earlier not all firms produce milks. So the number of firms that are left with milk-production are not able to meet market demand. So, there may be possibility that farmers are forced to import some high-end technical machines to maximize the production which may further adds up taxes and generally results into high cost production to generate more such milk amount. So, here also it is unwise to say that farmers are making bucks and government should intervene to regulate prices of milk.

Finally it can be said that judgement of the editorial based on so many extraneous and dabbed facts. So, without proper research about the market condition, it is very tough to reach into any conclusion. The above conclusion will be more solid and robust when there will be more availability of data with more samples of market research around the region.