The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author in the above letter claims that the number of shoppers in central plaza has decreased in past two years as the popularity of skateboarding has increased. To support his claim he provides the evidence, that the increase in the number of skateboard users has caused an increase in litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, he concludes that in order to bring back the business in Central Plaza, government should prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. But, the argument rest on many loopholes and many questions are needed to be answered in order to consider the argument as true.

The author asserts that skateboarding has led to the decrease in shoppers in Central Plaza, but is it true that any other factor did not caused the decrease in shoppers? Author assumes that other factors didn't attributed to the decrease in shoppers. It can be true that due to poor customer satisfaction, lack of customer care service, faulty products led to a deacrease in the customers. What if the shops in Central Plaza changed their busniess strategies which failed miserably? It can be true that customers didn't like their new plans and resisted them to visit stores. Because of their failure in the new strategy could be reason for the decrease in the shoppers. Also the author assumes that prohibitng skateboarding will bring back the central plaza in back into business, but it could be true that some skateboard users used to shop sometimes and after prohibiting skateboarding will cause a more lose to the Central plaza. If the above questions and assumptions are true then it would undermine the author's conclusion that skateboarding were the reasons for decrease in number of shoppers. From the above, the author provides lack of information and requires more explanation to support his conclusion.

Author provides the study of past two years, but is the study valid? Was the data taken for the studies was from each and every stores in Central Plaza? Because if the study was done on some particular shops which was already going through a loss and very less number of shoppers used to visit the store, then it will obviously help in supporting the author's conclusion. Does the study takes all other factors for the loss of shoppers? It could be possible that due to poor maintainence of Central Plaza repelled shopppers to come. If other factors like these are true then it would undermine the author's conclusion. The above study lack proper information and needs more explanation to support the argument.

In conclusion, It can be said that the whole conclusion of author stands on weak evidences, the author has not offered convincing explanation to support his views. The study requires more evidence to hold the roots of the argument. Thus, it cannot be concluded that prohibiting skateboarding will strive the business back in Central Plaza.