The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner. "over the past two years, the number if shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarders has increased dramatically. Many central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the Plaza. There has also been dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. thus we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

The given arguement is flawed for a number of reasons . It just assumes that declining business and vandalism in the plaza is directly related to skateboarding . We are also not told if the economy has been doing well for the past couple years . Neither are we informed if there are more options for shoppers in the form of newly constructed shopping malls. It is also possible that various shady businesses are the cause of the ruckus.

The argument assumes that the situation in the city is same as it was two years ago. It is possible that a new shopping plaza was built in the nearby district which has shops that appeal a lot more to the shoppers. Maybe the rent prices in central plaza have been rising for the last two years due to which the shopowners are forced to raise the prices of their commodities to such an extent that the customers are unable to afford them. The newer shopping mall in the nearby district might not be suffering from high rent prices and so the shoppers are more comfortable going there.

It must also be given if the shopkeepers have a consistently uniform character or not . It is plausible to assume that since the shopowners took the customers for granted , they increasingly started overpricing them and deceiving them by giving substandard products . The customers might have assumed it to be a unintentional mistake of the shopkeepers . But repeated incidents would have discouraged them going back to these shops . A number of famous bloggers might have also been the victims of this who would then publish numerous blogs on this issue which would further alienate the shopkeepers.

It is also assumed that the very cause of low sales is skateboarding . It is possible that skateboarding is only helping their business. Since most of the people prefer going to the adjacent shopping plaza , there are a few famous skateboarding shops in the central plaza. Even people from nearby cities prefer coming to these shops only for their recreational needs. When they visit those shops , they decide to purchase other items such as household items , clothes from the shops in the central plaza . Had there been no skateboarding shops , the business in central plaza would be in an even bad shape.

It is also assumed that skateboarding is causing vandalism and litter in the plaza . Well , it actually is possible that there are a few skateboarding enthusiasts who are known for taking drugs and excessive amounts of alcohol but then , it makes up only an insignifcant amount of the total cases . It is likely that a violent gang has taken control of the area and is known for causing vandalism and hooliganism . Maybe it is due to this fear of the gangs that people dont prefer coming to the plaza . It is also possible that there are a number of illegal businesses dealing in prohibited drugs which are the source of this mess. The innocent shoppers may encounter bad people which then frequently leads to fights and ruckus. The source of litter might be a new fast food restaurant which does not have dustbins or has an insufficient amount of them so that the customers are forced to throw the waste on the plaza floor.

We must also be told about the state of the economy. It is likely that economy has not been doing well for the past couple of years . The wages have been going down and the customers are unable to save enough money to shop in the plaza. A cause of this might be the recent economic recession. A large number of people might be leaving the city in search of better livelihoods elsewhere . Even most of the shopowners in the plaza might have stopped doing their business leading to a small number of shops in the plaza . This will further discourage the customers to come to the plaza since they wont get a variety of items which they could get in the past years.