As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A renowned surgeon is helpless if he does not have access to medical equipment such as lasers , MRI machines , surgical robots and the like. It does not mean that he is deteriorating as a surgeon day after day , he continues to attend conferences on latest breakthroughs , periodically revises the concepts taught at medical school and is only a better version of himself . Technology has not been harmful for him at all , and neither he is less skilled at solving complex problems either.

By utilising technology , we can invest ourselves to the domains where technology cannot help us achieve the desired goals. Humans have evolved throughout the century only because they never want to stop inventing and fulfilling revolutionary ideas. Today , most of the monotonous work including data entry , scraping through huge amounts of data are being performed by technology . If a human were to do this work , it would only result in the wastage of the precious human brain power. Various domains including big data , machine learning , stem cell studies are being done solely by humans as these branches require brain and skills which cannot be matched by machines , atleast for now. Although there may be instances where one does excessively rely on technology for doing their work , these cases constitute a small proportion and may not be given much importance to.

There are certain things that humans simply cannot do without technology. Tracking the foraging habits of animals , studying the effects of psychiatric disorders on the human brain using CT scans and doing massive calculations where a single error can cost billions of dollars are a few cases where we should allow technology . Though these activities does require humans at various stages , it is certain that they are using their knowledge and skill and are not deteriorating their skills. Humans dealing in such technologies need to regularly solve complex problems beyond the reach of machines .

It is wise to say that technology is empowering the people not only to solve problems but also to become adept in reaching new heights . Smartphones today help solve numerous problems of communication which have bugged humans for ages. Though a naive person might think that these are used specifically for entertainment , the reality is a lot different. Smartphones are being used to communicate with fellow physicians , teachers , researchers and enable a conducive way for the like minded to interact and increase their understanding of the domain.

It is safe to say that ,widespread use of technology is not deteriorating our abilities to think for ourselves. In fact , it is only increasing our acumen to grasp new concepts and conquer more problems .