In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The given argument is flawed for numerous reasons. It assumes that simply cleaning the river can lead the citizens to come and enjoy their recreational activities. It does not tell if the river is actually even fit for supporting recreational activities. We are also not told about the surrounding location of the river and how well accessible it is to the population. Neither are we told if one time cleaning can sustain its cleanliness.

The argument assumes that the river is good for supporting activities as diverse as fishing , swimming etc. It is not given anywhere if the river actually can support such activities. It may be possible that there are no fish in the river, thanks to the bad quality of the river. It may be possible that the river is unpredictable and frequent flooding happens. The waves may be too dangerous sometimes when the dam is opened . All of this endangers life. It is also possible that the climatic conditions in the city are not conducive for such activities. The city may be located in the arctic region where the temperatures are usually below negative.

It is also assumed that the river is well connected to the city . If there is no supporting infrastructure that can easily lead people to the river, why would anyone come ? It is also possible that the particular area is home to numerous gangs and there have been cases of gruesome crimes. Anyone will think twice before coming to such a place. Even if people still want to come ,it is possible that there the roads connecting the river are full of markets and shops due to which traffic jams are a common occurance in that area. In such cases a nearby lake which has a serene environment and is not a hotbed for gangs and criminals will be a better choice for those interested.

It is not given what caused the contamination of water . It is possible that there is a lot of industries near the river that discharge their waste . So ,the water will again become dirty. So , it is possible that the program may find initial success but after sometime , things will come back to the past .Assumption is being made that citizens have enough time and energy to frequently engage in such recreational activities. It is possible that most of the people are engaged in industries which require long working hours . Such people will find it difficult to get some time for recreation. Even if some of the citizens get time to visit the river , it is likely that since they constitute a minority the investments done for the river will only cause government enormous losses .

Due to a lack of clarity in the argument , one can be sure that investments wont help make the river a hotspot for the citizens.