A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Anthon , a top scorer in the AP's and SAT exams was envied by all his friends . He had a very high chance of getting into the top universities across the US . But if one took time to ask if he was happy with all of this , the answer would be a big NO. He always wanted to represent his state in soccer and had an affinity for playing chess as well. But all of that was instead devoted to studying mammoth textbooks and going to classes . He is a patient of morbid obesity and has no friend circle , since he never even had time to make friends. It seems that going by this history , education system has not done justice to him.

A national curriculum ensures that all the students are going through the same educational process whihch leads leads to uniformity . If the individual states were allowed to design their own curriculum , it is very much possible that one curriculum is much harder than the other. Its also possible that the grading systems widely differ which can give unfair advantages to a particular group of students. It makes easy for universities to clearly know the strong points of the applicants which is never possible if the university is dealing with thousands of students coming from thousands of different curriculum . As previously mentioned , this may give undue advantage to the students whose curriculum are relatively easier. Curriculum designers may also want more students selecting their methodology of education , so they may intentionally deteriorate the quality of education imparted to the students. This may not be healthy for the students in the long run. They may miss out on important terms and terminologies which others know by heart.

It is no guarantee that the curriculum designers are themselves good educators who know the needs of students thoroughly . A curriculum which inhibits the confidence of a student may be created which may be disastrous for their self-confidence . In a bid to increase the number of students succesfully getting top grades in the AP , SAT exams , they may force the students to study unnecessary topics which are not only useless to most of them but also impact their learning ability and prove to be a cause of mental stress. Even if a higher percentage of the students do end up getting top scores in the national exams , it wont make the students better in any respect. Its highly possible that most of the students will get more harm than good. An unnecessarily tough curriculum can hamper the all round development of students and can qualify their ability for social interaction and their love for sports. All of the top scores may only seem good only on paper. But even then , this will set a wrong example to other curriculum designers who will then design their curriculum to be highly competitive too.

It is possible that there are certain curriculum designers who understand their students better and hence are at a better position to design meaningful curriculum for the pupils . Suppose that there is a group of students who are dyslexic and dont have adequate learning abilities . In such a case a customised curriculum will serve their needs better. Such customised curriculum should be reserved only for students who have genuine disadvantages of following the national curriculum. If same analogy were to be applied to the general student , it would create havoc. For example , assume that there is a high school well known for its students excelling in computer science olympiads. In a bid to nurture their talents , the administration decides to only teach them computer related subjects . So , the students are not being taught about the US history and neither about the english language. They are being specialised in their fields but then they are not being groomed as an all round individual . When all of their friends gain knowledge of how their country got independance and what enabled them to be a superpower , these student's hands will be paining after typing codes on the computer for hours.

This is adequate to say that all students should not follow different curriculum.