The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. But last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. A better alternative is to add a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, and so would reduce rush-hour traffic rather than fostering an increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that the traffic jam run people into a huge problem in blue highway and people could not get to their destination in time, so, a new bicycles' lane should be added to the highway in order to diminish rush-hour traffic. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author contends that according to motorists' proposal, increase width of highway and additional lane could reduce the traffic jam. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since, there is no sufficient evidence to support if extra lane is a suitable plan and is able to decrease traffic hour. One point that should be considered is that all highways in the world have built based on specific plan and situation. So, there is possibility that location of blue highway does not have capacity for extra lane. Indeed, maybe blue highway is restricted by different building and there is not any empty space. It is also important to say that, perhaps motorist have proposed for their own comfort due to the fact that it will ease their commuting.

The author also attributes that last year's Green highway added extra lane to the highway but the traffic jam had increased significantly and it worsened the situation. Although it might seems tenable at face, it has some defects. Due to the paucity of evidence, that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only problem with premise is that there are majorities of highway that are main roads in every nation and there is possibility that most of the population had used from Green highway during past years. In fact, maybe Green highway located in a good place and many motorists had preferred to use this highway. Alongside that, perhaps width of green highway was twice as much as blue highway and extra lane could be added on it.

Finally, as set forth by the author bicycle lane could contribute greatly to the reduction of traffic owing to the fact that myriads of residents are bicyclists. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an inadequate evidence to support if a large number of people will use bicycle in order to commute to their destination. One point that should not go unnoticed is that the author does not provide any information about percentage of bicyclists. Indeed, maybe few people prefer to get to their destination by bicycle due to the fact that it will get more time rather than car. Moreover, additional bicycle lane next to the motorists will not be safe and there is possibility that they cause accidents on the road, which add more to the traffic.

Having scrutinized the premises. A logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence, having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.