"The primary function of the Committee for a Better Oak City is to advise the city government on how to make the best use of the city's limited budget. However, at some of our recent meetings, we failed to make important decisions because of the foolish objections raised by committee members who are not even residents of Oak City. People who work in Oak City but who live elsewhere cannot fully understand the business and politics of the city. After all, only Oak City residents pay city taxes, and therefore only residents understand how that money could best be used to improve the city. We recommend, then, that the Committee for a Better Oak City vote to restrict its membership to city residents only. We predict that, without the interference of non-residents, the committee will be able to make Oak City a better place in which to live and work."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that the city commission should limit its membership because they are non-residents and are not able to understand the difficulties of Oak City and address them properly. Indeed, residents of this city should take the responsibility of Oak City. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which more well-established evidence should be given.

First, the author contends that only citizens of this city could understand how the limited budget could be used. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is no sufficient evidence to support if citizens of Oak city are able to make a right decision for the budget. One point that should be considered is that the author does not provide any information about citizen whether they are knowledgeable or not. There is a possibility that these residents do not have the ability to make sound decisions due to the paucity of experience and information. What if they aggravate the situation? What if they could not come up with an objective decision? It is important to say that maybe they just want to find a decent job in the committee, who knows?

The author also points out that in a meeting they did not come to an agreement with membership because of their foolish objections. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects due to the paucity of evidence that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the author does not provide anything about the meeting and it contends. Indeed, maybe the ideas of citizens were not logical or maybe because of limited budget their ideas were impossible to do. Moreover, maybe citizen in the meeting offer suggestions for the sake of their own personal goals, who knows?

Finally, as set forth by the author the membership are not eligible to work in this city because they do not live in Oak City and could not understand the problems. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled evidence to support if living areas could help to the understanding of problems. One point that should be considered is that we all know that people spend most of their time at their work. So, they certainly have enough knowledge of their surrounding areas and appreciate different trials and tribulations. The author does not show any information about membership's living condition. Maybe they do not live in a better environment with better condition. What if they are experiencing a worse situation in their living areas?

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there is some evidence having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.