"Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children's books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children's books are likely to decline. By replacing its children's books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager of Monarch books recommends that in order to increase profits and evade competition from Book and Bean, Monarch Books should replace their children’s book section with a café. The manager came to the conclusion based on the opening of a new bookstore with a combined coffee shop and the national consensus showing a decline of children under the age of ten. However, in order to validate the recommendation, the unstated assumptions must be examined. If the assumptions are unsubstantiated, then the recommendation is unwarranted and the entire argument falls apart.

Firstly, the manager assumes that Book and Bean’s combined bookstore and coffee shop attracts more customers. The manager relies on the assumption that more customers will be attracted to a coffee shop and therefore the manager should install a coffee shop to attract more customers. However, it could be that Book and Bean are attracting more customers because the people in the area are coffee drinkers. If this is the case, then the manager must provide evidence that people in the area of Monarch books are coffee lovers. If not, the addition of a coffee shop would not attract customers. Additionally, it could be that Book and Bean are attracting more customers due to its newly installed bookstore that may be spacious and clean for the customer attraction. If this is true, then the author installing a new coffee shop would ultimately backfire and not attract customers. The author would need to provide evidence indicating that Book and Bean attracted customers solely due to a coffee shop.

Secondly, the author assumes that no one would be interested in purchasing children books in the future. The author provides the premise of a national consensus that indicates a decline in the children population under age ten. However, it could be that the decline is only for that year, whereas in the future an increase is likely to happen. If that is the case, then the manager’s removal of the children’s section would harm future profits. Additionally, it could be that while there is a decline in the children population, it does not necessarily mean children’s books are likely to decline in profits. In other words, it could be that adults are still interested in chershing and reading children’s books during their leisure time. If that is true, then the manager could be losing potential profit. To avoid this, the author would need to demonstrate evidence of the declining population and a survey showing if customers are interested in children’s books regardless of their age.

Lastly, the manager assumes that a coffee shop would increase profits. However, it could be that a coffee shop would harm the business of Monarch Books. Perhaps, many customers enjoy coming to Monarch books for the reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books. If a coffee shop is added, it would create noise and distraction that may shew customers away. Additionally, it may eliminate its customer attractive feature of having a wide array of books when the children's section is removed. On the other hand, it could be noted that many customers are not coffee drinkers. Therefore, the store would not gain any profit. If the aforementioned possibilities were to be true, then the author would not gain profit, but lose profit and large customer base. To avoid this, the manager should provide a survey that shows whether customers are interested in a coffee shop or not.

In conclusion, the argument is rife with a number of unstated and unaddressed assumptions. The manager must provide substantial evidence to enhance the recommendation, such as a clear analysis of the national consensus and surveys of public opinion. If not, the manager could be losing profit and potential customers by taking the wrong measures.